My Mom Believed Antifa Took Over Seattle. It’s Fox News’s Fault.

Also, the President’s.

Tiffany Verbeck
4 min readJun 19, 2020
Photo by Zhifei Zhou on Unsplash

I got a call from my Indiana-based mom to my cell earlier this week. During the conversation, she asked me if I had heard what was happening in Seattle.

“No. What’s happening?” I asked.

“The Antifa locked down several blocks and are holding it captive. They’re carrying around huge rifles.” She went on to say that the protesters say they aren’t part of the U.S. anymore, that they are their own country, and are checking anyone’s ID who comes in and out.

Also, they were giving away free food to anyone who needed it. Which struck me as odd in the moment.

“When did this happen?” I wracked my brain to remember hearing about this. “I haven’t heard anything about it.”

“You must not watch the news very much,” my mom said. I thought how I watched the evening news on ABC almost every night and subscribed to The Washington Post. My mom relied mostly on Fox News, but surely the stories couldn’t be worlds apart.

How did I not hear about this?

I did some research into Seattle’s supposed Antifa problem

--

--

Tiffany Verbeck

Tiffany Verbeck uses her awesome storytelling skills gained from a master’s degree to write on personal finance, lifestyle, and creativity: tiffanyverbeck.com.